AD /LDAP Authentication

I’m new to RockStor and to this community.
I’m trying to setup the LDAP or AD Authentication services.
Possible to help me?

Thank you so much!

I’ve been using AD Authentication (DC on Samba 4, not WIN :slight_smile: ) over nas4free and found it easier on Rockstor

Those are my steps for AD Auth:

1. Install Rockstor
  2. Setup NTP SERVER (it should be your AD DC or the same NTP server used by DC) - System -> Services -> NTP
  3. Setup Active Directory (System -> Services -> Active Directory Key) (IMPORTANT - Domain/Realm Name seems to have some problem with Domain only, got working for sure with realm - yourdomain.local or whatever it is)
  4. Insert your Administrator uname and pass
  5. Submit and it should be ok
  6. Reboot Rockstor to get Winbind correctly map users and password from domain (for @suman : instead of a reboot you should plan fixing by services reload - winbind smbd etc - remember to add an option to move from samba log level 3 to lower level, found it in smb conf)
  7. Your Rockstor now has joined AD and you can set groups/users for shares under access control)

BR
Mirko

2 Likes

Hello Flyer,
Thanks for your reply.
Does it need to be Administrator username or just a username from AD?
Usually, when I sync my servers to LDAP /AD I only use my own username and password in AD and it works.

Hi :slight_smile:

When you join an AD you must fill username and pass fields with an AD Admin data
Example: my AD Admin is Administrator so i fill username with Administrator and his password

If you have multiple AD admins or if your user is an AD Admin too you can use it

Easy version: use the same account data you use to join a computer to the AD

Let me know

Mirko

Hello Mirko,

This is how I did it:

1. I turned off everything. I only turned on NTP and AD.
  2. I set AD and used the username and password that I use when I joined my PC to the domain.
    (I think, by company policy, my username can join up to 5 PCs in our domain)