Backup the whole drive? but how

Hi Guys,

I am really new to btrfs. It came into my mind to setup my whole system as it is nearly 4-5 years old.
And you know how this is… change browser, mailclient… and I also want to change my FS as I read a lot of good stuff 'bout btrfs. I am a bit familier with LVM and also worked with ZFS.
So my goal is to achieve having a snapshot of my system on another disk, and on failure (disk, or my stupidity to mess up the OS) simple boot from the other OS.
Till now I just did a ‘dd if=/dev/xxx of=/dev/yyy’

Now, I just created btrfs on on /dev/sdb without partitions. Installed all in / - no extra home and so on.
As its a fresh installation I can redoit and here is where i stucked.
Do some partitions?
Or doing the btrfs way with subdirs and do snapshots?

Could you guys point me in some direction?

Thanks a lot.
K.

@somboku Welcome to the Rockstor community.

This is not really a Rockstor related question from what I can tell. Could you clarify how this relates to Rockstor, are you proposing a Rockstor instance as a target for a desktop btrfs based backup arrangement?

This forum definitely has some btrfs knowledge given the Rockstor DIY NAS system is btrfs based but if you have generic btrfs questions there may be broader audiences available with wider knowledge than is available here.

Btrfs and it’s various permutations are extremely broad. And if you are new to it then I would advise adopting a desktop distro that defaults to btrfs, i.e. openSUSE/SuSE Leap for quite some time or more recently Fedora. But both have ‘arrangements’ to cope with certain booting restrictions imposed by grub etc re mult-device capabilities in btrfs that are less well supported in grub/systemd. Also openSUSE Leap at least carries a btrfs related patch for grub to work around some elements of this interplay.

Just a note on: