Balance Failed after Adding Drives and Changing RAID Type

Hi all,

I’ve started using Rockstor for the first time and have ran into an issue and would like advice on how to proceed. I moved information off of my old windows server onto my Rockstor server by copying all of the information on it to a single drive 12tb pool. After the information transferred I shut off my old windows server with the hops of taking the 3 3tb drives and adding them to the 12tb pool and using raid 10. After changing the RAID type and adding the drives it started the re-balance. The re-balance went on for about two weeks and only got to 18%. Today it finally failed with the below error. Should I just try another re-balance? If you need more then the error code below please just let me know and I see what I can retrieve. I’m a newbie to btrfs and rockstor so I appreciate your patience with me!

Error:
Error running a command. cmd = btrfs balance start -mconvert=raid10 -dconvert=raid10 /mnt2/Data. rc = 1. stdout = [’’]. stderr = [“ERROR: error during balancing ‘/mnt2/Data’: Invalid argument”, ‘There may be more info in syslog - try dmesg | tail’, ‘’]

Does anyone have any thoughts?

@Andrew_Tocco Welcome to the Rockstor community.

What amount of data / file count are we talking about here? The following:

Would either suggest a very slow drive and or your data / file size/count really calls for quotas to be disabled which is only supported in the now far more modern stable channel updates (as of writing anyway).

Is the 12TB drive an SMR drive, if so then it is not suitable for general NAS use anyway and most particularly not btrfs.

There is also the element that this balance (actually all Rockstor initiated balances currently) are complete, that is they will end up moving all the data on the pool. But in this case, that of changing the raid level, that is best anyway as then we ensure that all data is then at the new raid level.