Can no longer connect to my network?

Very much a newbie here… I tend to fumble into success without much knowledge. I got Rockstor up and running on a dell power edge T430 server, installed Plex Rock-On and have been loving it for a couple of months. Then it went sideways. I replaced my internet provider and Router this weekend and now my server does not appear on the device list of my router and I have no access to the Web-Ui.

Any thoughts?

Welcome @msperos to the community forums
Could it be that with your previous router/internet provide you assigned a static IP address to Rockstor that is not part of the new router’s setup (e.g. assigned 172.16.0.199 in the past, and your new router follows the 192.168.0.xxx mask)? At the end of bootup the Rockstor system will show its host IP address.

I assume, you can also not connect remotely to the server (anymore) to just run
the hostname -I command to get the IP address it is registering under?

1 Like

My rockstor IP is 192.168.0.73. The new router was running 192.168.1.1. I went into the router and switched it to the .0.1. Still nothing. Rockstor boots. shows Https:192.168.0.73 . But my router does not show it on the network. I have switched cables and even drug the server up yo the router and plugged straight in, nothing. going into the linux utility I show the ethernet card still showing the rockstor address 192.168.0.73 and the gateway as 192.168.0.1. Should I mess with the DNS servers listed on the IPv4 Config on the server. Or is there a way to tell my router to allow the DNS listed on the server to work?

Since it seems you have a monitor connected to the server, you can log into the system and using the NetworkManager (underlying framework to manage network connections used by Rockstor and determine the active interface(s) you have by typing:

nmcli device status

Identify the interface that has a connection. Use that connection name to review the profile via:

nmcli -p con show <ConnectionName>