Can not install any rockon 4.0.8-0

I’m new to Rockstor.
I did try CentOS based one a year ago and really liked it but my hardware was not really up to scratch and used USB flash for boot drive which was not optimal. This time I have removed the failing hardware and use SSD for boot drive. The installation went flawless and created a pool and a share and a Samba export for use on my Windows machine. So far so good.

I did use a couple of Rock-ons on the first installation (CentOS based one) and they all worked amazing. I like that feature. And wanted to install a couple on my new installation.

Wanted to try Zoneminder and Pi-hole and a couple of others. But it seems like I can not install any Rock-on at all. And as I’m pretty new to Rockstor and not really versatile on Linux I don’t really know where to start troubleshooting.

I tried looking into the var\log catalog for hints but what I got there was (not exactly but similar) to like File not found (Zoneminder) type of errors in rockstor.log

I tried installing every version (3 of them?) on the Rockons page but to no avail.

Then I tried a manual install, following the this: https://github.com/dlandon/zoneminder.machine.learning

And I did download/install.

Tried running it and no errors… But I can not connect so I guess I need to edit some config file somewhere? can anyone give me some hints?

Or should I just install the CentOS based Rockstor?

Thanks!

@AlexW Welcome to the Rockstor community.
Re:

Can you say what happens when you try?

It could well be that our Zoneminder rock-ons need attention. But we haven’t had other recent reports of this. But it does seem suspicious that all versions would fail.

Manual installs of software outside of Rock-ons is not recommended except for expert users really. And further to that it can then interfer with future function of similar Rock-ons. So best to uninstall any custom installs and sort the Rock-on issue first.