Crashplan GUI/Crashplan Desktop Service working on Rockstor?

I’ve seen talk on here about how to get Crashplan running in headless mode, but nothing for the GUI/Desktop mode. How do I install and launch the crashplan app from CLI locally on the Rockstor machine?

Do I need to install a desktop environment for linux first, or can I install and launch the Crashplan app without an underlying desktop environment?

This should be a set of fairly simple yum commands. I am still learning, but could probably figure it out in a few hours. If anyone can save me the trouble, I would greatly appreciate it.

1 Like

Actually, won’t there be increased support for Dockers in the next stable release? There are several docker containers available for Crashplan. If that feature is coming, I may just wait and configure things after the Tenaya milestone is finished.

If that’s the best way to get this job done, anyone have a working crashplan container they can recommend?

I’m still open to suggestions here, just putting more options on the table. The goal is to get things working, the means to that end are not consequential.

Yes, installing Crashplan GUI directly on rockstor is pretty simple. The bare minimum you need are gtk2 and libXtst, and maybe some font. You can than redirect the GUI to your local X server (such as Xming on Windows) through an ssh tunnel.

I find this approach much easier to maintain than the community-supported dockers which seem to break every now and then. And that really isn’t surprising because running Crashplan in headless mode has always been unsupported :smile:

@haoto

Thanks for the reply. I have a few thoughts. First, you don’t sound certain that this will be enough to get crashplan running (“and maybe some font”). Have you tried this? Second, there are no commands in your response. Third, I do not want to redirect my GUI. I want the GUI to run locally on the rockstor monitor.