Disk Role Configuration for newbies

I’m very very new to NAS, so apologize for these obvious questions.

I have some 6 old school USB drives (4 x 1TB and 2 x 2TB) with the USB 2 interface (and mostly formatted as HFS+) that i’ve used for backups etc. Though sadly there’s loads of duplication and there’re mostly at capacity (about 7TB total).

Ideally, I would like “reuse” these drives to become a NAS (i have a suitable unused server for this). But after reading this some questions arise.

1. USB drives can’ be attached/pooled/shared etc without having a btrfs partition (yere yere i know it’s not a real partition in the old school sense), and that said partition needs to be blank/erased. (i.e i cant simple plug my HFS+ USB drive and its magically on the network). Yes I have also read about importing, but that’s just “copying” the data to the NAS drive/share anyways right?

2. To benefit from a NAS “pool” it would make sense (esp speed) to remove the 3.5" drives and wire the sata connections directly (bypassing the restrictive USB interface that’s slower) AND pair the drives (similar sizes)… though I’m going to lose my “data” and halve my available “space”. (in which case i’m going to need a LARGE intermediary drive to “hold” the data, before “transferring back” to the smaller sized capacity NAS share?).

3. I take it that pool/share can be expanded? i.e add “pairs of drives” to increase the overall capacity of said network share?

4. Let’s assume I have a left over intermediary drive after doing the above, could this USB drive become an automated offline spare? (the docs I have read to date suggest so, but it wasn’t newbie friendly or how to do it). Can the offline spare be a format other than Btrfs

5. Future? what happens if say Btrfs becomes old school (aka another NTFS… yes we still love you NTFS), would one need to copy all the data off again to a different formatted HDD and do this all again?