External Access

hi im new to all of this so bare with me, i have managed to set up a file server with rockstor and its all running fine on my home network, what i would like to know is if it is possible and if possible how to go about accessing all my files from outside of my own network, not just music and movies which i know i could use plex for to share but for things like documentation and backups

if this is possible and some one doesnt mind sharing their knowledge with me on it i would greatly appreciate it :slight_smile:

Blackeagle

That is more or less what I am trying to do as well. It should be possible by using the OpenVPN Rockon and connecting to your LAN through that, but I cannot get it to work properly. I can access my home internet connection remotely, but i cannot see shared files yet. I believe this may be caused by settings that need to be changed in my OpenVPN server config files, but I cannot figure out where Rockstor keeps those files and what it calls them.

Hi. You can take owncloud for accessing your files renotely.
You find owncloud official and another rockon which is more simple to inplement but might not be the latest version. The official image doesnt work securely (https) at the moment… You find some more infos about penalize on rockstor and in thr forum.

Waiting for FTP service or Rock-on. The workarounds don’t work unless you are advanced enough or have the patience to fiddle with them.

So there is no way to use OpenVPN as a tunnel to gain access to your home network other than for accessing the internet? I thought one of the biggest selling points of OpenVPN was the secure connection to your home network so that you could safely access your local files remotely. Seems like a waste if that doesn’t work properly.