From OMV to Rockstor?

Hi,
So this is my first post and already starting with a tricky question … from OMV to Rockstor?
I’m currently running OMV 3.x and read an very exciting article about Rockstor and since then I’m seriously considering to move over. Here are my questions:

• I created a Btrfs pool in OMV would it be possible to import?
  • Emby is one of the most important plugins for me and I already read your forums and what I understood is there is no native support for emby yet.
  • is there an easy way to install and update emby
  • is there any roadmap to have emby supported as native plugin

I think it’s fair to mention that I’m a Linux beginner so cli commands are still challenging.

All the best, ojessie … looking forward to your response.

1 Like

@ojessie Welcome to the Rockstor community. I’ll have a quick go at each of these in turn.

Only if it is based on raw devices, Rockstor only deals with btrfs pools that are made directly on the device ie sdb, sdc etc rather that partitions on the device ie sdb1, sdc1. So if yours is the latter then the import of pools and shares/ snapshots wont work as that arrangement is not catered for. This allows for us to keep the underlying code nice a simple. If your is latter then you are going to have to manually mount (using the cli) your existing pools and have an additional set of drives upon which a bar drive pool arrangement can be made, and then copy your data across. Far from idea but that is the state of play currently and there are no plans to support btrfs on partitions. Or you could copy from your existing OMV over the network to a newly constructed Rockstor. Others may have more advise on this of course.

Emby Server is an official Rock-on, the name Rockstor uses for it’s docker wrapper plugin system.
So yes it is included by default on every Rockstor install as an optional add-on / Rock-on. And as Rock-ons are docker based they are all native.