I wrote a blog post about my inability to choose a NAS OS and how Rockstor looks most likely for me to use

Hello all!

I wrote up a blog post on my site about my difficulty picking a NAS solution and mention Rockstor, why not take a look?

http://www.rossfisher.me/2015/12/nas-platform-confusion-or-which-nas-os-do-i-pick/

You, me, and probably a hundred other people are having those same struggles right now. I’ve been dragging my feet for almost two months, testing various NAS OS options, but I haven’t committed to one because they all have SOME kind of drawback for my application.

Rockstor continues to look like the leader, although I’m bummed that there isn’t a good drive spin-down feature, drive monitoring page, more Rock-Ons, etc. I’m thinking I will grab a stable subscription soon and just go along for the ride. Rockstor has only gotten better and better since I found it, and I expect in a year’s time all of my concerns will have been patched/updated away.

This product isn’t “there” yet, but it will be soon and when it gets “there” it is going to blow everyone else out of the water. Plus, Suman seems like a great guy. He also seems like he’s stretched a little thin and could use a few more staffers, but more stable subscriptions will get us that as well!

Post back here when you make a decision about what to do because it may help me as well. Good luck!

Nice post @zorrobyte! I just left a short comment there. I appreciate your patience as we are working with cutting edge stuff here, everything from btrfs to docker to our own stack. But looking back at this year, we’ve developed so much and the stability improved substantially. I don’t know if 2016 is going to be the year of Linux desktop, but sure hope it will be the year of Rockstor :smile: