Install Error NoSuchPackage

I’m totally new to Rockstor, not great with Linux and have deep experience with storage and network solutions. With that prefer, I’m running into an install error that I hope someone can help with. Yesterday I downloaded the latest Rockstor build, burned it onto a DVD and started the installation process.

The DVD booted great, I selected my time zone, OS drives and clicked next. The install process starts and after a few moments it crashes. When I switch over to the command line I get this error NoSuchPackage(pkgid).

The complete error is shown on the attached picture.

I assume I’m just doing something wrong, but I can’t seemed to figure out what the issue is. Can anyone with more wisdom then me please point me in the correct direction?

Thanks,

Adam

Hi @akotter, welcome to Rockstor community!

Is this problem with the latest ISO(3.8-9.02)? My first suggestion is to download it again and repeat the process. If you can install from USB, it will save you time and DVDs. In case you haven’t seen it already, here’s the quickstart guide.

Correct, this is with Rockstor-3.8-9.02. I tried two different downloads with both a USB and DVD. With the USB I had several issues creating the boot drive (as noted on other post). I both cases I got this same error. Is there a place I can download an earlier ISO?

Thanks,

Adam

Has anyone else tried to install with the latest ISO? I’m excited about the potential of a good brtfs NAS, but right now I can’t do a basic install. It’s probably something I’m doing wrong, but I’d love to know if anyone can make the latest ISO work.

The error screenshot you posted seems to indicate that something may be wrong with the ISO, so I’ve done the following:

1. downloaded 3.8-9.02 ISO from sourceforge
  2. verified that it has the right md5sum(ba18cce56119c155a794b9704b2ff266)
  3. transferred it over to a USB stick using dd if=Rockstor-3.8-9.02.iso of=/dev/sdb (/dev/sdb is the USB stick in my case)