Installing ZFS through the Command Line

Hello all. I am very new to Rockstor. Utilized ZFS via FreeNAS for a long time. I like the look and feel of Rockstor 3.9.0 but would like to have the ability to use ZFS until the BTRFS RAID5/6 stability becomes solid. That being said, I went ahead and gave these directions a shot:

I tried both the dkms and kabi methods. Both ended up giving me the same errors listed below:
"The ZFS modules are not loaded; Try running ‘/sbin/modprobe zfs’"
When trying to do that I get:
“modprobe: FATAL: Module zfs not found.”

So the interesting things is that I can find the module buried here:
/lib/modules/3.10.0-514.6.1.el7.x86_64/extra

I followed through all of the trouble-shooting I could for about 3 hours… At this point Im done beating my head against a wall and wanted to reach out to see if anyone has had any experience with this or similar things. Im guessing because Im new to this OS that Im missing something.

Thank you!

I guess the main question here is can it be done with the current build? ie install ZFS post or pre-build? If not, what are the technical barriers stopping one from doing so. Again, new to the structure of this OS so I might just be painfully unaware of something simple here…

Taking a deeper looks into the repositories that Rockstor is calling from, does the following have anything to do with this issue?..
ZFS™ (Zettabyte File System) is a combined file system and logical volume manager designed by Sun Microsystems.

Fedora releases don’t ship proper ZFS support included to kernel because its license CDDL (Common Development and Distribution License), instead it’s available as a FUSE (Filesystem in Userspace) module (pacakge name zfs-fuse).

@Devin_Kusek Hello and welcome to the Rockstor community.

Glad you like what we are doing. To address the issue of ZFS on linux and consequently Rockstor I’d like first to provide a little context: