Kernel panic after update from 3.8-1X(prev stable) to 3.8-13 stable

Hi,

I just upgraded my perfectly working system to the new stable release and get a kernel panic when booting. I can still boot the older kernel.

System: N54l with 3*5TB in RAID5; rockons: plex+owncloud; USB stick as boot medium

any ideas on how to fix this /instuctions on how i can send you more sys info?

Thanks,
Klaus (customer since ~2 months)

1 Like

additional information:

also occurs after deactivating the rockons when booting with old kernel.

more info on kernel panic:
"not syning: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0) -

• I am not an expert-does this mean an upgrade on USB stick fails?

Klaus

Hi @rockstoruser77github - Klaus, welcome to Rockstor Community!
Iā€™ve already read something similar via Rockstor Github page (while reading of users upgrading without any matter too :slight_smile: ), so we can assume itā€™s not a bug related to 3.8-13 itself, but instead to 3.8-13 on some specific installations (maybe because of important networking model changes/improvements, i guess)

Can you provide logs/further infos ?? (boot with old kernel and collect rockstor logs / system logs)
As a customer remember to use Rockstor support too

ADD after reading your second post: that seems related to wrong boot opts (usually happening with kernel/grub mods), so you can try by system rescue on boot (that would solve it) or wait for @suman for another opinion

1 Like

THX for the quick answer. Maybe you can link me to the documentation on how to get the logs the easy way? (maybe I overlooked it in the GUI-if not please implement a button to collect this for support in the future)

I dont have any specials settings/installation. Only the HP N54l with a modded BIOS (for AHCI/full speed on all SATA ports).
Rockstor is installed totally the ā€œnormalā€ way from one USB installation-stick to the boot stick (rockstor setup routine).

3WD 5TB disk with a single pool RAID 5