Missing files but subfolders are OK

Hi, I have a samba share exported from a RAID-1 pool. I noticed today that although my root files are intact, I am missing a whole bunch of files in subfolders. The subfolders exist, but no files within. I checked from my mountpoint via SSH and the CLI shows the same thing.

I do not notice any errors in either dmesg or /var/log/messages (at least not the repeating type to indicate disk or other hardware failure).

I have not restarted yet for fear of making something worse. How do I go about troubleshooting the root cause of this?

I am running Rockstor 3.9.1-0.

Thanks for any help.

Are you running a scheduled scrub at all? If so, please provide latest scrub info, otherwise start a scrub, and post results on completion.

Thanks for the reply. I had last run a scrub October 1st. I just completed another one, but where do I get the results of the scrub?

I ran this, if that helps:

btrfs scrub status -d /dev/sda

scrub status for 6e11674c-2a41-40e7-a3eb-6f70d60065a4
scrub device /dev/sda (id 1) history
scrub started at Sun Nov 19 10:18:23 2017 and finished after 01:16:50
total bytes scrubbed: 551.80GiB with 0 errors

Are you sure that /dev/sda is the disk you’re missing files from? You can run the following to show all btrfs filesystems:

btrfs fi show

And then show the last scrub for the given mountpoint (as opposed to the physical device) by:

btrfs scrub status /mnt2/<mountpoint>

Also, that scrub is 20 days old. It’s up to you how frequently you run them, but I typically run mine weekly on Monday mornings at 12:30am

As for other ways to view the scrub status, Rockstor UI -> Storage -> Pools -> [ Select the pool ] -> Scrubs tab @top -> Click latest, it shows a nice table of information.

At this point though, assuming you’re showing a scrub on the right filesystem, I’m not sure I can help you further. Something may be wrong with the metadata / btrfs extent table.