Newbie needs help

Hi: as stated in the title I’m a newbie here. I am trying to install Rockstor Personal Cloud on an I3 Acer laptop using a USB Boot disk. Everything went fine until the install instructions said to logon to localhost 127.0.0.1 - everytime I tried to access via a web browser from my Ipad or another Windows 10 laptop I get the same error message: Local Host refused connection - ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED - I’ve researched until my fingers ached but still couldn’t find anything to help. Has anyone here seen this before? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Hi Lindsay
I am also in the Newbie sector, in fact I think I am in the pre newbie class after reading all these posts. (Have to have a glossery of terms open all the time).
I had a similar experience when opening the GUI first time, untill I used the Https://, access wasn’t granted.
Hope this helps —(Can’t believe i’m attempting to help another user)

1 Like

Yes you will need to access https://ip_address_of acer_laptop from a browser to get to the Rockstor webGUI from another device.

If unsure of the Acer laptop IP address, log in to the Rockstor install on the Acer laptop itself using the password you created during installation. Once in, enter the myip command to get the ip address, then use this address to access the GUI from your iPad or W10 devices. Once successful, feel free to log out of the Acer laptop as you will be doing everything via the WebGUI.

Hope this helps.

3 Likes

Thanks, Mike - I tried that before but will check o make sure I typed it correctly and try again.

Thanks, GeoffA _ i will try but last time I tried it the install defaulted back to LocaHost Login and I could get to a command prompt to do anything else

@ljeisan Welcome to the Rockstor community.

First off, what @Mike-B & @GeoffA said.

Plus, are you using our latest installer from the downloads page. It has the @GeoffA mentioned

myip

program that should given you the actual ip.