Question about Replication

I have recently got really invested into building a fully self hosted echo system and currently am using the Rockstor as my NAS storage. I built a somewhat of a beefy setup for this so I could also run a Plex media server with local access to the data and removing the element of Smb shares.

I am relatively new to working directly with a NAS. I would like to back up the entirety of my NAS, including data to another backup device, in the even I experience any failures that will result in the loss of data.

From my understanding after reading documentation on Rockstor replication, I believe this is what I am looking for.

I just had a few questions about this I was hoping for some assistance with.

1. In order to backup data and shares on the second Rockstor instance with Replication, do I need to have the same hard drive sizes? My thought is that it is based on shares, so if i have an 8 TB share on the main NAS, I would need at least a HDD to support an 8 TB share on the instance being replicated.

2. Is this the best solution for having an entire backup of my NAS with the Data? I do not want to store data on anything that is not self hosted.

I plan to support this project once I finish making sure it will work for me the way I need it to.

I appreciate any feedback.

@m1dori this will be interesting, so if/when you have set this up, I would be curious to see how that setup looks.

Yes, the Rockstor replication can be the simplest way of handling your backup. As other people on this forum have said, you should always have backups of your data :slight_smile:

As for the target, since we’re using the btrfs system and you will likely run on some type of RAID level, your target system should have at least the same amount of available space. When you’re using the Rockstor replication service then your target system will also have to be set up as a Rockstor instance.