Rockstor on Vanilla MicroOS openSUSE - AppArmor

Hey there

I really do like the concept of Rockstor
… although I am also a big fan of openSUSE’s new MicroOS for servers with it’s atomic transactional updates.
Unfortunately there is no installer for Rockstor on openSUSE MicroOS (jet), but I though about installing Rockstor on a “Vanilla” MicroOS installation as explained in the Documentation.
(MicroOS is built from the same codebase as tumbleweed - every application that runs on tumbleweed should run on MicroOS with no issue as well.)

But my main question is about disabling AppArmor.
I am somewhat uncomfortable about disabling it completely as suggested in the documentation.

Are there any discussions around this “issue”, why it is necessary in the first place? (I didn’t find any reasoning here in the forum or in the documentation)

I am not an expert in AppArmor, in fact I have never touched it so far.
But I read a bit in the openSUSE Documentation about AppArmor and if I understand it correctly, unknown applications have to be manually confined by AppArmor, not empowered.

I am not (so much) concerned about allowing Rockstor to do everything, as I am to disable AppArmor for the whole system.
Are there any discussions / resources regarding Rockstor I can have a look at?

Cheers
Simon

@simon-77 I defer to @phillxnet as the expert here really, but if I remember correctly, the intent is to eventually get aligned with apparmor down the road. So, for now Rockstor is somewhat incompatible with apparmor, but when time/resources/interest (maybe you want to get into it?) allow, Rockstor will be enabled to work with apparmor enabled again. Historically, during the process of changing distributions from CentOS to OpenSUSE, I think the decision was made to not make this part of the transition a priority.

3 Likes

Follow up question:

I just noticed that openSUSE has switched with MicroOS from AppArmor to SELinux.