RockStor Only show 3.78GB of the 8gig install

I’m new to the RockStor World. Been using for a month now but just reallised that only 3.78gig of memory seem to be used by RockStro.

@Baguaman Welcome to the Rockstor community.

There doesn’t seem to be a problem here as free memory will just be used when needed. Usually by Rock-ons or for disk cache. A more informative output of what memory is being used for can be had from the following command:

cat /proc/meminfo

During larger disk operations you should see the cached component slowly rise, possibly until it occupies almost all available memory. Linux is quite good that way. However in the sate your machine is in the memory requirement is obviously quite minimal. But the output of your command looks to be normal. Have a look at the output of the above command for more details.

Hope that helps.

Maybe others could chip in here with some example ‘experiments’ to show this memory being pushed a little more as that would then help to show how some operations will push the memory use up. And would also server to test for sure if our memory widget is not given an accurate story. But in the info given the command line and widget look to tally mostly.

I often watch my 10gigs of ram used up as a highspeed buffer! I love it! I just tested and Rockstor used my remaining ram up to 99% to buffer 4gb video files copy across my 10gig network. for the 20gb transfer, rockstor maintained about 200MB/s (with peaks of 260MB/s) writing to a spinning seagate ironwolf drive! So I’m confident Rockstor makes use of all my ram. I just took this screenshot as well while running a balance (not during transfer).
I am running 2 rockons so I expect they would be responsible for some of the memory usage. but my experience is rocktor has access to my 10gigs of memory.