Samba shares not seen in windows

Hello everyone…

I’m new to Rockstor and NAS but have a lot of computer experience from mainframes to windows. Self taught in Linux (not very much).

Problem…
I have sharing setup correctly I believe but in windows when I try to setup the share it does not come up under network however if I put in \server address\sharename it connects and all is well. Why am I not seeing the share in Network?

Have read all the posts I could find and here is some info.

net rpc share list -U Steve
Password for [KAUFMAN-HOME\Steve]:
testing
IPC$
Vault:~ # testparm /etc/samba/smb.conf
Load smb config files from /etc/samba/smb.conf
Loaded services file OK.
Weak crypto is allowed

Server role: ROLE_STANDALONE

Press enter to see a dump of your service definitions

Global parameters

[global]
load printers = No
log file = /var/log/samba/log.%m
map to guest = Bad User
printcap name = /dev/null
workgroup = KAUFMAN-HOME
idmap config * : backend = tdb
cups options = raw

[testing]
admin users = Admin root
comment = Samba-Export
path = /mnt2/testing
read only = No
root preexec = “/opt/rockstor/.venv/bin/mnt-share testing”
root preexec close = Yes
Password for [KAUFMAN-HOME\Steve]:
testing
IPC$

testing is the share and Steve the user. Windows is V10 and Workgroup is the same on the windows machine.

Share info

Created on: June 10th 2024, 5:10:04 pm
Pool (Active mount options / Status): Test (rw,relatime,space_cache,subvolid=5,subvol=/)
Pool Quotas: Enabled
Active mount options / Status: rw,relatime,space_cache,subvolid=257,subvol=/testing

Space free - 1,023.98 MBSpace used - 16.00 KBSize 1.00 GB

Access control

Owner root
Group root
Permissions
(755)
Owner Group Other
Read
Write
Execute

TIA Steve

This might be related to the wsdd service needed to expose the shares in window’s network neighborhood. There is a Rockon for that. Try to install that one and see whether your smb shares show up in windows.

2 Likes