Setup Sanity Check

Summary

Hi all. I have been lurking and reading threads both here and on the FreeNAS forums for a while. I have finally decided to order my new hardware for a home server and am leaning towards using RockStor as my NAS solution. The only thing that has me leaning towards FreeNAS is the /slightly/ more modern web GUI it has and iSCSI support. But, I would really prefer to stay Linux based and not FreeBSD which is where RockStor is winning me over. Before I get into the specifics does anyone know if there are plans on the horizon to modernize (or sexy-up) the RockStor GUI or is the desire to leave it more utilitarian (nothing wrong with that either just asking)

That said I have already purchased a full version of RockStor because I as a Software Dev I like to support these projects even if I donā€™t end up using them. I think there is some great work being done here and a good community to boot.

Here is the setup I am looking at:

Setup

• 1x Cisco UCS C240 M4SX Chasis w/ 2x E5-2650v3 CPUs - 40 Cores / 64G ram
  • 1x SCSI12G Hardware Raid Card
  • 24x 600GB 10k RPM Drives in Raid 6 for a total of ~13TB

[Note: Since this is an HW Raid 6 it should work just fine with BTRFS which will just see it as contiguous storage - right?]

• ESXi running as the Main OS
  • RockStor inside a VM
  • Serving NFS/SMB to the house - Windows Snapshot enabled.
  • ESXi spinning up VMs for the kids that can be nuked (when) they completely screw up their machines.

Primary Use Cases

• Plex Transcoding
  • Sonos Music Hosting
  • VM Storage Share
  • PC Storage Share
  • Local Backups

Questions

[Q0: How much CPU/Ram should I allocate to RockStor - not looking for minimums here but a good solid baseline to make things run smooth.]

[Q1: Is there a guide on optimal RockStor/VM setup? I have seen a few threads but many are dated and what I would really like to know is the best way to expose the drives to RockStor / current status of network bonding support].