Setup suggestions for Rockstor storage and backups

Hello I new to this forum and I’m new to Rockstor! I’m trying to build a new server / nas (hp gen8 microserver). My current idea is to use:

Hypervisor: ESXI (on SD-card)

• Guest (Windows Server on SSD)
  • Guest (Rockstor on SSD)
  • 2 HDD passthrough to rockstor guest.

My problem right now is that I need to figure out how to setup the HDDs, one 8TB and one 3TB. What’s the most practical, secure way to setup these if I don’t need more than, say 100GB of replication? (The rest will be non sensitive data like media stuff).

I’ve been thinking perhaps the simplest way is to format each drive to “single drive” btrfs, and use a dedicated folder/share on one of them for nightly backups for the other drives 100GB. Are snapshots something that could work for this task? Or is best to copy data using a simple backup script that would run every night?

Thanks for any help and suggestions!

I see that nobody else has weighed in after a few days, so I’ll put in my two cents. I think you’d be better off adding additional disks to create separate pools with varying redundancy. However, as you said, with only 100GB that needs to be protected, this is an expensive and wasteful option. In this case, then, I recommend you setup a script to do the dirty work. Seems much easier than the alternatives.

Thanks for your reply. I could add another disk, but I assume I need 8TB or 3TB to do a mirror as a redundancy, of type mirror, at least. If I only want to protect the 100GB, do what is the best approach? I have read little about snapshot send/receive. Is this a good way to protect data? To my understanding It will only be protected when it is snapshot.

You should first decide on what your requirements are.

• If the data is not critical and downtime of the data is not a problem, you can just setup the drives independent from each other in whatever configuration you like, and sync the 100GB of data between them.