Share size enforcement is temporarily disabled due to incomplete support in BTRFS

Hi I’m new to Rockstar and very impressed so far. I get this message
"Share size enforcement is temporarily disabled due to incomplete support in BTRFS. Until this status changes, the effective size of a Share is equal to the size of the Pool it belongs to."
I can’t seem to find a way to setup BTRFS, any advice would be much appreciated please.
Regards
Richard

Welcome to Rockstor community @redo109!

The message you see is a informative warning and shouldn’t be of any concern to most users. It doesn’t mean any error. Does that address your concern?

Hi Sunman

Many thanks for your reply. I’d like to know how how to resize the shares, I thought this message meant I couldn’t resize. I’ll have another read through the docs.

Kind Regards

Richard

You can resize the shares.

But the size you choose wont be enforced by BTRFS, meaning you will be able to put more data on the share than the size you set.
Basically you can put data into it until the pool in which the share is, is full.

This is AFAIK a limitation to BTRFS, that will hopefully be fixed soon.

1 Like

Many thanks Karsten for your help
Regards
Richard

Hello,

Is there any news on this issue?

Greetings,
Hendrik

Any updates on this? This is kind of a deal breaker for me. I’ve tried several of the recent releases hoping that this would be fixed. Just installed 3.8.15 and see that its still there.

You miss the main point here… BTRFS is not a file system, where you want to limit your shares.
Your shares are not similar to “Partitions”.
Main message:

1. For years we were forced to plan our partitions ahead… how much should my SRV partition get, how much my home…
    This is not necessary anymore. If you run out of space: you add a new drive.
  2. If your free space is shrinking too fast, something is wasting it and needs reconfiguration.
  3. You can setup quotas per user/group: