Shared folder security

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Rockstor having only installed it today but it appears to be quite a good option for what I need. Can i begin by saying I’m brand new to Linux and come from a Windows background so please be patient if somethings go beyond my knowledge.

I need to setup a Nas solution that is able to integrate with Active Directory so that we can backup some of our work to it and we can use our AD accounts to access the shared folder. I have been able to setup the software and enter all of the server details (I am currently testing on a virtual machine with a test domain) and create a share that is visible by browsing to the IP address from a client machine.

I have tried to setup some NTFS permissions so that only certain users can access the folder however I don’t know how to do this. My first attempt told me I didn’t have the permission to apply the new NTFS permission so as a workaround I added my AD username as the folder owner within the Rockstor shared folder Access Control list. Making this change allowed me to apply the NTFS permission so I added a user in and removed all permissions however the user could still access the folder and read, write and delete while inside the folder.

My questions are how would I block access to anyone except a few users that I wish to be able to have full access to the folder? Is there a way to create a group of users with Rockstor using the AD accounts and then assigning this usergroup as the owner of the shared folder?

Thanks everyone for your help and advice

Hi Noel, don’t worry I’ve switched from amiga to linux … that was fun :slight_smile:

@Flyer is your guy, he plays with those evil active directories.

Also, welcome to crazy world of rockstor and btrfs and linux and cookies :slight_smile: I strongly believe in hard love approach, if something sucks tell us about it ( unless you are a 100th person to say that, like lets say raid5&6 status :slight_smile: )

[yanking chain mode ON]