[SOLVED] Problems with Apollo Lake Celeron J3455

Hi,

I’m new to Rockstor and currently trying to get it booting on a relatively new Intel Celeron J3455. As the current CentOS plattform seems to have issues with these processors I wanted to ask wether there are some testing builds/isos I can try to get it to boot.

Thx in advance.
Flo

Hi Flo,

i’ve installed rockstor on an ASRock J3455-ITX NAS. The installation was a little bit of a hassle, mostly because i wasn’t experienced with the UEFI bios, but now it’s running smoothly.

Bert

First thing I did was disable that UEFI shit. Did you do anything special? I’ve tried it with the iso from the download page, which didn’t quite boot into the installation process (some wierd error/kernelpanic). I’m running this board: https://geizhals.de/asrock-j3455m-90-mxb450-a0uayz-a1525589.html
Any suggestions?

Hi,

i think its the same board here, just the itx version.
iirc the important step was to enable ‘CSM’ in the bios.
The next hurdle was, that the default boot menue was too short, rockstor always booted the uefi boot option with the result that not the rockstor boot screen showed up but the CentOS boot screen. iirc the solution was to press ‘f11’ at boot for a larger boot menue where i could choose the non uefi boot option.

HTH, Bert

1 Like

I didn’t read the stuff… just type exit to get out of the emergency console and the setup continues. Other from it being really really slow (which is kinda expected, cause hardware is unspported by old kernel) it works now.

Thx for your help.
Hoever I have a new problem now :smiley:Cannot access smb share