Testing of LAN replication speeds. Curious what others are getting

I only saw one other post on Replication speed related and it was WAN related. So I decided to reach out and see how fast others’ replication is working as well as did some testing while writing this up.

This is my first attempt, I was syncing my music share from one Rockstor to another(Box 1 to 3…see below specs) I am seeing about 34-38MB showing up in the network graphs of each Rockstor box( is that MB/s??? …not sure the units as they aren’t stated…future tweak???). Not bad…but not as good as I was expecting. I let it complete before my next tests.

Second test: Box 1 to 3 (MusicVideos folder/share sync …very large) same speed of 34-38MB on graph…

Third test: 5 min later while second sync was still running I started another folder sync (Movies folder …also very large) Speed jumped up to 56-66MB on graph. Also CPU usage on Core2 Duo is over 50% per core (50-60% area)

Update EDIT: I added another folder to sync (three folder syncs running at once) throughput jumped to 68-74MB and CPU when up just a hair I think on the old Core 2 duo (55-65% each core)

Edit 2: I leaned that one folder sync seems to read off of only one drive (raid 1), and multiple folder syncs seems to be using both drives, as per Dashboard HDD activity graphs.

Cool that more shares/syncs equals more combined throughput. However, I am not sure the background of the sync process and why the throughput seems almost capped per instance.

Below is some background details for refernces.

I have 3 Rockstor instances. 2 are Proxmox VMs and 1 physical machine

Hardware list:
Proxmox host is Dell T3500 with 20GB ECC ddr3, and Xeon e5630 ( 4c + HT= “8 core”), onboard Intel Gigabit nic, ZFS mirrored SSDs that host the VMs OS “drives/partitions”
-RockstorVM (Box 1) has 4 cores and 4GB ram allocated , Rockstor v3.8-10.19 with storage drives/shares ( 2x WD 3TB Red passed to VM directly eg: virtio0 /dev/sdc, virtio1 /dev/ sdd)