Thinking about running Rockstor and Ubuntu on a Proxmox server

Hoping for some input / experiences here.

I’m considering converting my Rockstor NAS into a Proxmox virtual server, inside which I hope to run Rockstor, and possibly Ubuntu / other distros.

The reasoning for this, is that I currently have 2 machines running 24/7/365 and both machines do absolutely nothing most of the time.

As I’m not very experienced in setting up VM’s I was hoping for an easy way to acomplish this. And from what I have seen Proxmox is relatively easy to set up.

The Proxmox machine would run Rockstor in a VM, with full disk passthrough of the disks in my btrfs pool. And it would also be running a Ubuntu setup, mostly to simply run Logitech media server (with Triodes Spotify plugin (I know theres a Squeezebox Rock-on for Rockstor, but it cant do everything I want it to)). Possibly some other distros if I want to try something out.

I know this is not a Proxmox support forum, so I’m just hoping for some pointers to if this would work (and be stable) or not.

1 Like

Hi @KarstenV,
this is a good idea and…I can directly confirm Rockstor working fine over Proxmox :wink:

Nice VM with Virtio drivers + disks passthrough (remember to add a “fake” sata disk, required by Rockstor to start installation)

Have fun with lxc and https://www.turnkeylinux.org/

Installing Proxmox? Really really easy
My suggestion: if you have any kind of hardware raid disable it

M.

Thanks for the reply.

It seems you have been working with it?

I am currently testing a Ubuntu setup in a Oracle virtualbox (on Win10), and allthough Ubuntu / Linux can make an experienced Windows user feel completely helpless at times, it only took me 2 or 3 hours to get a setup running, that will do the things I need it to.

So not that frightening after all, but a lot of Googling…