Unable to connect the the web Ui

Hello.
I have tried to installed it and get it running in the past few days with small progressions but still cannot access the WebUI. I have checked I’m using https i have checked the systemctl -l rockstor and it says its running and loaded. I have tried running /opt/rockstor/bin/initrlck. All with no luck. I have been looking for the answer but not having too much luck. Im sure its something simple but this is my first time trying to set something like this up that isnt just on local host.

Please help.

@Plazmatic4 Welcome to the Rockstor community.

I’m assuming you are using our new installer for the v4 “Built on openSUSE” version.

Does your install progress as per the howto here:

https://rockstor.com/docs/installation/installer-howto.html

And if so what is the output of the myip command at the end? And after the first reboot?

https://rockstor.com/docs/installation/installer-howto.html#login-as-the-root-user

It does sound like all is well so this may just be a network issue. You machine is presumably attached to your network via a cable. Rockstor doesn’t, at least yet, support wifi connection setup via the Web-UI.

You can also test the network access from a client machine (laptop/desktop) by doing a “ping” command to the number in the “myip” output.

ping 192.168.1.100

where the number is actually what “myip” said it was.

This helps to test the connection between your client/laptop/desktop machine and the Rockstor machine.

Hope that helps and let us know what your find the output of the myip and ping commands to be. For access to Rockstor the client machine must be on the same network.

You may also have a browser plugin that auto-rejects / blocks self signed web pages. Rockstor uses a self signed certificate as it’s better than not using https. The end of the above installer guide explains this.

1 Like