Using older image backup of boot drive?

I’m new to Rockstor and there seem to be quite a few issues around recovering from a failed boot drive. My question is this: If I get the system configured the way I want it can I power it down, image the boot drive to a spare drive, verify it works, and use that spare drive to recover the system at a much later date should the main boot drive fail? My concern is if updates are applied in the meantime and/or critical data regarding the pool is stored on the boot drive, might that not work?

Is this is a viable strategy or is there more of a real-time relationship between the boot drive and the data pool such that popping in a boot drive that’s say a year old may cause problems?

The basic advice for a failed boot drive seems to be starting over with the data drives removed, adding the drives and importing them, restoring the last configuration backup, and crossing your fingers for good luck. And that, apparently, doesn’t restore Rock-ons? There are several posts here regarding people having trouble recovering from a failed boot drive.

I consider easy recovery from a failed boot drive especially important as Rockstor doesn’t support mirrored boot drives and many are using USB thumb drives for the boot drive which are relatively prone to failure due to Rockstor’s frequent writes to the boot drive.

@DevGuy Welcome to the Rockstor community.

that sort of goes along with: