What would be the best setup given my setup

I’m really new to this whole setup and as I’m figuring out how I want to move forward, I figured I should pose the question to the more experienced folks here :slight_smile:

Here’s what I’ve got for drives at the moment:

1 x 3TB drive that’s holding my media (not in Rockstor yet)
2 x 2TB drives that are Raid 0 in RockStor and are holding a 250GB vmdk being used by ESXi

For the best in resiliency…should I store data in the raid array for performance and take backups of it to put on the 3TB (which can act as a standalone storage device…no raid)? Or perhaps there’s a better setup? Just some thoughts on this would be appreciated…as I said its all new to me :grin:

depends how much you want to invest.
raid != backup
storage is cheap :slight_smile:
your best option in btrfs is raid1 (in large disks sets it’s raid10)
raid 5 & 6 ARE VERY BROKEN at the moment

FYI, you can have all your 3 disks in raid 1 on btrfs and it will result in your case with ~3.5TB usable storage.

1 Like

Ok thanks for the recommendation! I think for now I’ll just keep non-critical data in the RAID 0 and ensure everything is backed up accordingly using Crashplan or my external USB HDD. Perhaps another drive is in order to get to a RAID10 setup.

Just don’t forget, within single file system you can have multiple raid levels.

So let’s assume a standard use case ( my LSD trip ;D )

1 fs spaning over 5 x 3TB disks
obviously:
system: raid1
metadata: raid1
data:
default filesystem setting: raid1
your folder: raid10 (because how quickly those cat videos load is a must)
a special folder [pron]: raid0 … because you care about it, but let’s face it you already have a backup at pron.com so loss is not that critical.

And that way with btrfs you achive a best of all worlds ( when it works :wink: )