Clarification Re pools for rock-ons

[Please complete the below template with details of the problem reported on your Web-UI. Be as detailed as possible. Community members, including developers, shall try and help. Thanks for your time in reporting this issue! We recommend purchasing commercial support for expedited support directly from the developers.]

Brief description of the problem

[ Hi
Been researching in and around Rockstor now for a couple of months, utilised an old PC (Celeron core duo on an ATX MOBO), waited for Black Friday deals (Ebay) and purchased 4X2Gb Ram, a Kingston A400 240 Gb SSD (OS), a couple of Seagate Ironwolf 4TB HDD (Data Store), plus some accessories from a local supplier.

Downloaded the generic ISO and utilising the recommended ISO builder (Rawrite 32 disc image tool) for a USB device installation which ran very neatly. (I had more problems changing the boot sequence in the BIOS being an absolute novice).

So, Rockstore is up and running with very little pain, not being used to anything outside of windows for a lot of years (Before windows 3.1) I stumbled at the change over from a monitor to a WEB UI, waiting for a screen to open, wondering what should happen next until I noticed a note re the web address to access the system. (Felt a bit daft at that moment).

Anyway, I am now setting things up whilst heat soaking the new (and old) kit (Is that still a term/process used?) and have got to the stage of setting up pools and shares.

From my interpretation of the docs a pool is usually a whole disc or set of discs
Quoting from the docs
Creating a Pool
Only whole disk drives can be used to create Pools
When reading about setting up rock-ons I find:

The Rock-ons root