Infiniband/vsphere 6 support

Hello,
I’ve been searching for a solid home lab data store os and came across Rockstor. I like the idea of Linux vs openbsd since I have no experience with bsd. My main requirements are, infiniband and vsphere 6 compatibility.

Since Rocksotr is based on CentOS, am i correct in assuming i can simply install the Mallenox Centos driver?

Does anyone have any experience with RockStor and vsphere6?

thank you in advance for your time

You are right, nothing prevents you from customizing Rockstor as you would with CentOS. Please do share your experience so others in the community can benefit. Thanks!

Thank you for the follow up. I will most likely be playing with a few different systems this weekend. I will be sure to post back on steps taken, outcome, and experience with the process.

So i did a bit of playing around this morning, i have two different mellanox cards i can work with. Got the following out comes so far. Bit of a linux newbie, so bare with me :grinning:

MHGA28-XTC:
rockstor image fresh install with kernel 4.1.0-1.e17.elrepo.x86_64. mellanox card seen
updated to stable with kernel 4.2.2-1.e17.elrepo.x86_64 mellanox card disappears
try to install ofed driver (after installing all required files and dependances), kernel not supported by the install script

i then switched to the newer card so i could see if it was there and try the mellanox driver

MHQH29B-XTR:
stable with kernel 4.2.2-1.e17.elrepo.x86_64 mellanox card not seen (ill may try a fresh install later to see if the card is present like the other)

attempting to install via the mellanox script reported missing kernel-devel, so i install via yum

yum install kernel-devel, this resulted in error: kernel-devel-3.10.0-229 already install. was installed in the prior test, but clearly the wrong kernel. so i tried to force a download of the right files

yum install kernel-devel-$(uname-r), result no package found