Is MQTT available to use in Rockstor

I run Smartthings in my home and have noticed HomeAssistant is available as a RockOn. After doing some reading I see that HomeAssistant can/will work in conjunction with Smartthings using MQTT and that MQTT can be run in a Docker but not sure if it will run as a rockon.

It should be obvious that I am not very experienced in any of this and I apologize if this is just a stupid question.

Chas

i would think that it is very easy. if i can find some time i might make one and post it to my github or create a pull request.

i have uploaded a json file for mosquitto to my github page that seems to work fine on my setup.

1 Like

@HBDK Hello again.

As an aside, I see that a couple of your rock-ons make use of the ā€˜ā€“deviceā€™ component. You might want to keep an eye on @Floxā€™s recent issue:

which aims to extend the rock-ons system/install UI to include the ability to specify devices. This looks like it would make for an easier install for at least 2 of your rock-ons.

Just a thought.

Cool i have been keeping tvheadend for my self for a long time because of the extra work involved in setting it up.
i think both makemkv and tvheadend would be cool additions if they could be installed without extra work from the command line.

@HBDK As of Rockstor 3.9.2-39 stable channel update @Floxā€™s ā€˜ā€“deviceā€™ addition to the Rock-on definition files has been merged.

Agreed. With the caveat that if you do end up submitting these Rock-ons they would need some kind of:

ā€œRequires Rockstor 3.9.2-39 or laterā€ put into their descriptions section in the cases where a device reference is required. Older Rockstor versions will, I think, just ignore this new ā€œdevicesā€ entry if it exists but of course your two noted Rock-ons require a device specified in order to function at all; hence the description suggestion.

See @Floxā€™s pending, and very prompt, rock-on registry doc pull request for how it is defined within the Rock-on json file.