Setting up pi-hole

I try to set up pi-hole for my network. But after installing it, it only recognized the 172.x.x.x addresses that are given internally. But in my network I use the 192.168.2.x.
How do I get this to work?

@Felix, how I understand it (can’t test it right now), when pointing your devices (or router) to the Pi-Hole instance for DNS server, you need to point it to the Rockstor IP address (it will trigger through the 53 port to Pi-Hole).

So, that doesn’t work, you’re saying?

Also, based on your other thread, this is on Rockstor 4.5.7, correct?

2 Likes

@Hooverdan
At first I want to say thank you for you
It’s my third request and you are always there to help. :sweat_smile:
I’m really new to the system and hope my questions aren’t too dumb🙈

With a little more research I found out that my router always use the ipv6 dns server, so I needed to take this address also.
After that it worked, but I see all the traffic only through the 172.x.x.x.
So I can’t see which client is causing which traffic.

In the moment I set the dns manually in the device itself, I see it as client.
Is there any way to pass the ip addresses of the devices through?

2 Likes

@Felix, you’re very welcome. I am not an expert in pi-Hole unfortunately, so I think my knowledge ends here, but I hope some folks on the forum have been using it in its current form, and can maybe help out.
I’ll look around some more as well, but off-hand nothing comes to mind right now.

3 Likes

Hi @Felix,

Yes, the Local DNS names features is great in Pi-hole.