System Drive Performance Boost: M.2 Drive vs USB 3.0

I am torn between utilizing my 250GB M.2 drive or a USB 3.0 thumb drive as my system drive. I am out of locations to add PCIe cards. I only have a 1x spot left and can’t find a solution available to support a M.2 PCIe or PCI-Express 8-Port Internal SATA Pci-E.

1. I am new to Btrfs and Rockstor and wanted in inquire if if I use a USB thumb drive as my system drive, do I loose much in performance? Are there enough benefits to invest my only M.2 location as a system drive?

2. Is there is a way to backup my single M.2 drive to a standard HDD if I decide to keep it for storage?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

rockstor works just fine on a USB3 stick. In fact if it detects that it’s installed on a USB, it will limits the write to the USB.

The next part of your question is not very clear to me. If you have one PCIe 1x slot left then you can definitely find a PCIe 1x to M2 adapter for your card (SATA interface M2).

If you want to make an image of your m2 card then use dd

Make an image of a m2 drive in /dev/hda:
dd if=/dev/hda of=~/m2disk.img

Restore the image to /dev/hdb:
dd if=m2disk.img of=/dev/hdb

@khanh Thank you so much for the reply!

1. I read that you can use a thumb drive, I was just curious if you invest in an M.2 drive, are there noticeable differences to justify the added cost.

2. I have not found any 1x to M.2 adapter cards that are non-SATA powered. Everything I am finding is 2x.

3. Do you know if i do use my M.2 drive for storage, can I back it up to a standard HDD?

Thank you again for the help. I have been waiting to start using Rockstor and want to make sure I set it up right the first time.

you could run it from a floppy drive :slight_smile: once it boots up you will not see that much speed improvement (maybe guy) but you should invest money in actual storage speed … or start using ECC ram to keep your data safe.

@Tomasz_Kusmierz Thanks for the help!