What is an alternative to Rock-ons?

I was about to ask if there was a way to install multiple instances of a Rock-on, since I have multiple people accessing the same NAS who want their own torrenting setups, i.e. two people wanting their own Transmission daemons or two Deluge daemons on their own shares. But then I saw that this issue was brought up in 2016 with no updates since then, so now I’m wondering what an alternative would be.

I believe Rockstor is using Docker, so would the best alternative be to manually create a new Docker container with the software of our choice? I’ve never used Docker before, so I have no idea how easy/hard that would be. My intuition would say that I would have to create a share for the Docker configurations, then figure out a way to link the torrenting directory to my media directories, which I did the equivalent of with Rockstor’s Rock-on and share webGUI interfaces. But I’m not sure if that’s all I need to do or if it’s going to be harder than I’m making it sound.

Any advice on what to do, or information on how others dealt with this problem, would be appreciated.

Hi @KVB,

You are correct on all points in your post: we currently do not support running multiple instances of a given Rock-on at the same time, but this is something you can do by running the docker containers yourself. You could thus run multiple containers based on the same image (let’s say Transmission or Deluge based on your example) with different container names and volume/port bindings.

Let’s take the example of the Deluge Rock-on; you can see its details in our rockon-registry repository:

When running the rock-on, Rockstor gathers the settings entered by the user during the Rock-On install wizard and then runs the corresponding docker run command. In this case, it would be (from memory):

docker run -d \
    --name Deluge \
    -p 8112:8112 \
    -p 58846:58846 \
    -v /mnt2/<share-set-as-config>:/config \