Anonymous guest access using SMB

Hello,

I’m new to Rockstor and I’ve been trying to figure out how to enable two things:
1- Making my Rockstor server visible and accessible from Windows by browsing through the “Network” functionality
2- Creating a read-only local anonymous guest access, for users to browse the server without account and login

The goal is for anyone in the house to be able to access data without having to type the server’s IP address or to have a preset account.

I haven’t found my answers browsing through the forum, or going through the docs. Does anyone have pointers?

@Dahita Hello there.
Re:

The key areas here are:
Samba: Services — Rockstor documentation

Which then suggests the following sections:

You can now proceed to Create a Samba Export of a Share and access shares from clients.

Likely getting the WORKGROUP correct, and using guest access should do it for you. There can be issues with network discovery which the following Rock-on was intended to address:

“Web Services Discovery Daemon (Wsdd) rockon #294
added by @Hooverdan.

But make sure everything else is in order first before using the Rock-on as it may just not pertain to your requirement here.

Note that there are others here on the forum far more knowledgable than myself on the Samba front so do hang in there for further advice on this one.

Hope that helps.

3 Likes

Hi @Dahita,

@phillxnet pretty much already laid it all out but I wanted to provide some more details.

With regards to seeing your Rockstor NAS in the Network section in Windows Explorer, you will indeed need Wsdd; this is unfortunately needed now due to some changes unrelated to Rockstor that made the automatic discovery of Samba share across a network requiring this additional piece of software. Thanks to @Hooverdan, though, the Rock-On they made is very simple and efficient!