Naive (maybe) question Raid 5/6

Hi,

I’ve been using ReadyNAS for around 10 years (OS6 on a 314 for 6 years) And they’ve been trouble free (touch wood).

They’ve been using btrfs for at least 6 years, albeit with their own RAID implementation (X-RAID) which looks superficially a bit like RAID5/6, but I’m thinking they must be doing something to mitigate the problems with RAID 5/6.

Basically with 4 drives, you get almost 3x the capacity of the smallest drive, and when you replace a drive, it auto-detects and re-builds the new drive from the other 3. It’s quite nifty, but takes a looooooooong time (when I updated from 4T drives to 8T, each drive swap took at least 24 hrs.)

So somehow each drive seems to be some combination of stripe and mirror, unlike RAID 10, there is no level of striped and mirror. As I said, Netgear seem to have confidence in them (it’s their reputation on the line).

So, here is the (possibly) naive question.
I’m wondering, is there some idea that could be borrowed? Or are they just mad? I’ve read something about mirroring metadata (including checksums?) across all drives, but striping data.

Cheers. (Bought my years subscription btw. Still on a VM while I try it out. But that’s a story for a separate topic)

1 Like

Hi again @HarryHUK,

Before some Btrfs experts provide more information here, I can chip in a little bit, especially with regards to the following:

You might be referring to the “recently”-added support in Btrfs for different raid levels between data and metadata combined to raid levels raid1c3 and raid1c4, that is particularly interesting for those wanting to run raid5/6 on their data. Indeed, it would allow you to have better redundancy for your metadata while keeping your data in raid5/6. We have had some quick discussion on implementing this in the forum (see the post linked below, for instance):

and @phillxnet’s response: